Luffing/Proper Course Basics

If the windward boat overlaps you from clear astern

you can luff them. i.e. you have luffing rights PROPER COURSE: The course
you would sail to finish ASAP.

There's no rule that says you HAVE to sail a ‘proper
course ... just rules that say sometimes you cannot
sail above or below your proper course.

Familiar luffing match on a reach .... T‘/es!
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Even on a beat, if you have luffing
rights you can go head to wind. wi f
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If you overlap to leeward from
clear astern you DO NOT get
luffing rights ....
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